Little Miss Pilgrim

On the journey to become a Titus 2 Woman.

The Fit Momma

Eversince our little Amy was born,  it has been a rollercoaster ride for us,  especially for me. Endless breastfeeding sesh along with other household chores plus travelling every weekend to church, it can be exhausting most of the time.  (That’s also the main reason why I couldn’t keep this blog updated)  But today, while I am nursing my baby to sleep,  I want to make time for this. Writing has always been my outlet for my thoughts and it helps me to unwind. For some mommas,  shopping or a day in the spa is their “me time”, this is mine.

What I specifically want to write about is this goal that I have now that I am 6 months post partum: to be fit. 

Here are some of the reasons that I have on my mind why I wanted to achieve this goal:

1. My husband.  He is my main priority,  though our child takes a lot of my time,  the Bible is clear when it says that I am designed to be my husband’s helpmeet. That being said,  I need energy to support him in everything, to cook his meals,  to take care of him (he’s not feeling well this week but praise God he’s recovering bit by bit) , to give myself wholly to him,  to help him in his ministry tasks (answering emails,  creating newsletters,  updating the NHP website,  etc)   I need physical strength to travel with him to church where he preaches every weekend (travel time is usually around an hour to 1.5 hours, we usually stay there for a couple of days, so I have to prepare our things ahead of time) . Also, my mom would tell me to always look my best,  to take time to take care of myself,  for my husband. Though my husband would always say that I look beautiful (he’s the sweetest) ,this is indeed a good advise.  It is also for my husband’s testimony,  that I look presentable at all times.  Being his helpmeet is an honor and it is God’s will for me as his wife, that is why I want to be able to accomplish my responsibility with vigor. 

2. My baby. I’ve already written awhile ago how my baby takes a lot of my time so I need strength to cope up with all her needs.  I need to eat right because I am breastfeeding,  I need to be fit to take care of her better.  (she sleeps at around 11PM-2AM everyday,  whew!) she wears cloth diapers when we’re at home so that’s an addition to my laundry. And, I think you have an idea of how exhausting it is to keep a baby entertained. They say you sleep when your baby sleeps, but for most moms that’s quite impossible since baby sleeping=time for other chores. 

But again,  being a mom is a blessing and is an avenue of grace.  It is in this chapter of my life that I’ve learned more about prayer and dependence on the Lord. 

3. Other people. Every Sunday evening,  I hold a short bible study with a group of young people at church,  to which I am thankful to the Lord.  I’ve always loved to teach and I have a burden for the youth so this is really a blessing. But for this I also need strength. I need to prepare the lesson early in the week and would do a short review everyday whenever there’s time. I also need to finish the session in 30minutes or less because Amy will start to cry if I spend much time without her.  Haha 

I also help my mom in her other chores here at home and would at times,  take care of my 6-year-old nephew. 

Sometimes, we have visitors coming over and staying with us at home.  We enjoy having people come over but it also requires much more effort and time management skills,  juggling my baby’s needs and entertaining our guests. 

4. Myself. I am also one reason why I want to be fit.  I want to be a good steward of the body that God gave me and I need to be healthy to be able to give my time for others.  I need to take care of myself so I can take care of others.  Bawal magkasakit!  As the famous filipino tagline goes. 

So for all these reasons and maybe even more,  I want to take a few minutes each day to do a simple exercise,  begin to change our family’s meal plans,  and start to live a healthier lifestyle.  In all these,  the Lord will be my source of strength.  I don’t know if I will be consistent but I will try my best to change myself, taking small steps each day,  to take better care of the people I love. 

How about you?  What do you do to better yourselves despite having a crazy schedule ?


Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 21, 2017 by in Motherhood, Personal, Practical and tagged , , , , , , .
