Little Miss Pilgrim

On the journey to become a Titus 2 Woman.

Focus 2017: Know God

Every new year, some people make a list of resolutions; a list of to-do’s, to-change, to improve. We do this all to become better, to make life more meaningful, to find our purpose. There’s nothing wrong with “new year’s resolutions” but I thought I’d dig in more deeply this year. I thought to myself, If I were to decide what to focus on this 2017, what would really be valuable? What would matter most in light of eternity? 

Then step by step, the Lord led me to an answer:

1. As I was reading, Loving God With All Your Mind by Elizabeth George, I came across this paragraph:

What really counts in the Christian life is knowing God. Why? Because that knowledge is foundational if we are to truly love Him, live for Him, and joyfully serve Him.

This is true right? No matter what you do for the Lord in your local church, no matter how many times you attend church services, it will all boil down to your answer to this question: How much do you know God? That’s the most important question that you should take time to evaluate yourself. 

2.Next, God led me to this verse which I have now memorized. I decided to make this my theme verse for this year:

Psalm 9:10 ” And they that know thy name will put their trust in thee: for thou, LORD, hast not forsaken them that seek thee.”

3. Then, the preachings I heard this January all pointed to the importance of giving time to know God to be able to obey Him fully and serve Him the way He wants to be served. I’m not sure if I got this right but I remembered one time my pastor said, The quality of our prayer life is directly proportional to our knowledge of God’s Word. 

That had me thinking of the quality of my prayer life because it makes sense, if you do not know the Lord that well, you would not be comfortable in conversing with Him for a long period of time. How’s your prayer life? Are you having a good conversation with the Lord or are you just mumbling and repeating stuff over and over again?

HOW DO I NOW APPLY THIS IN MY LIFE?

This realization made me a lot more conscious in my everyday life.

A. During my bible reading and devotion:

 I think of an attribute of the Lord that is present in that particular passage.

B. During my prayer time:

 I will try my best to pray the Bible…and that wouldn’t be possible if I do not read and study the Bible. 

C. My relationship with other people:

Whether or not they are good to me, I should base my response and attitude in light of God’s goodness. This causes me to view my relationships as a way to prove my love for the Lord.

D. If trial comes:

 I try to remember a certain passage that will help me make the right decision or say the right words because I have a goal to not upset my Lord with my response and attitude.

I have a goal to please Him because I know Him and I am now doing my best to know Him better day by day and that makes my life a lot more meaningful. 

How about you? What’s your focus this year?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 25, 2017 by in Bible Principles, Practical, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , .
